Ray Hendrick, early Modified

Joetta Hendrick
@joetta-hendrick
10 years ago
5 posts

Good Morning everyone!

I'm really new to this, so I hope you'll bear with me.

I married into racing a few years back, when I became Mrs. Roy Hendrick. .. yes, his daddy was Ray.. The history hanging on the walls is intoxicating....but the STORIES are the best!.

Roy was telling a group of guys, at the Old Timers Racers Reunion (at Occonneechee Raceway annual event) about how his dad had painted a man riding a rocket on the trunk of his modified.This would be in the 60's.(.early 60's)..a few of these guys remembered it,...but no one had ever taken a picture of it. Roy says he's NEVER seen a picture of it...anywhere.~~~ There's my reason for this post!.. Might anyone have,..or know of a picture of Ray Hendricks modified (1960's) that shows this "rocket man" on the trunk?!

I appreciate any help!!

updated by @joetta-hendrick: 12/05/16 04:00:58PM
Dave Fulton
@dave-fulton
10 years ago
9,137 posts

Welcome to Stock Car RacersReunion, Joetta. Be sure to stop by our Ray Hendrick In Memorium Tribute site here at this link:

http://stockcar.racersreunion.com/group/rememberingrayhendrick

I sure hope someone finds a photo of the rocket man car. I've never seen it, but well remember the "Constipated" trunk lid on Ray's car with the Budweiser tap hood ornament.

--
"Any Day is Good for Stock Car Racing"
Joetta Hendrick
@joetta-hendrick
10 years ago
5 posts

This is great! Thank you!... I heard him talking about this too! lol...I don't know if he's got pictures of this...His mom might. (Ray's first wife)I'll show him this evening....Thanks again!

Dennis  Garrett
@dennis-garrett
10 years ago
560 posts

A FEW DAYS AFTER RAY WAS BURIED I VISITED HIS GRAVE SITE. RACE FANS AND LOVE ONES HAVE LEFT AN TON OF CHECKERED FLAG AND FLYING 11 SHAPED FLOWERS ON HIS GRAVE.
Raymond D. "Ray" Hendrick GRAVE SITE IS LOCATED AT Westhampton Memorial Park, 10000 Patterson Avenue,Henrico County,Virginia 23238