Don't Believe Everything You Read in Racing Books by "Experts" - i.e. Humpy Wheeler's "Growing Up NASCAR"

Dave Fulton
@dave-fulton
11 years ago
9,137 posts

I have read many racing books over the years and they've all been so full of mistakes I have just about swore them off.

I just happened into a 2010 ThatsRacin' column about Humpy Wheeler's book Growing Up NASCAR .

The column contained one brief allusion that absolutely infuriated me and I thought I'd take the time to correct it. For someone who portrays himself as an expert, my experience through the years has been that Humpy Wheeler paints with a broad stroke and usually gets most of his facts wrong.

Here's the little piece from Humpy's book that set me off:

O.K. - Jack Watson didn't work for Hanes, he worked for Blue Bell, Inc. He did not work in marketing, he was advertising director for Wrangler Jeans. The Wrangler brand was never associated with Hanes. Dale Earnhardt was never associated with Hanes. Hanes did later sponsor some events at Martinsville.

The president of Wrangler Jeans' Blue Bell, Inc. domestic operations was Bob Odear . Odear had worked for Hanes for a brief period of time where he invented the marketing concept of selling panty hose in drug stores, convenience stores and grocery stores in a little egg shaped container and christened the product L'Eggs . That innovation killed 90% of the sales of hoisery in department stores

Odear had at one time been a top official for RJ Reynolds Tobacco company. Watson worked for Odear at RJR as Winston Brand Manager. Odear was responsible for taking Ralph Seagraves out of the field and placing him in charge of RJR Special Events.

When Odear arrived at the Wrangler brand, Watson left RJR as Winston brand manager and joined Odear peddling jeans. Stock car racing sponsorship for Wrangler was just a step away.